130 grams of fiber, 2400 calories

How do I eat ~100 grams of fiber, on average, every day? Here’s my full dietary breakdown from December 30, 2015:

my diet 12-30.png

Green tea is associated with reduced all-cause mortality risk (https://michaellustgarten.wordpress.com/2015/10/20/drink-green-tea-reduce-and-all-cause-mortality-risk/), so I start every day with  green tea + lemon.

Then, I ate a giant salad (https://michaellustgarten.wordpress.com/2015/10/09/what-i-eat-giant-salad/), consisting of pickles, lettuce, tomato, purple cabbage and corn, and topped with a blended dressing of fresh lemon, sesame seeds, cumin, jalapeño, and raw garlic.

Also on the list were sardines, which I eat every day. Snacks in between bigger meals were carrots, 1 whole red pepper, mushrooms, and a Brazil nut.

Then I ate a big bowl of broccoli topped with cherry tomatoes. I added mustard powder after the broccoli and tomatoes were done cooking (~10 minutes), because broccoli’s sulfurophane content decreases with cooking time (https://michaellustgarten.wordpress.com/2014/08/13/restoring-boiling-induced-sulfurophane-depletion-in-broccoli-with-mustard-powder/).

At some point after that I had cod liver oil, to get my daily dose of Vitamin D and the fish oil fatty acids, EPA and DHA. I just (last week) sent my blood for analysis of my circulating Vitamin D, so I may need to increase my vitamin D intake based on what the result shows.

Next I had my beet-berry smoothie (https://michaellustgarten.wordpress.com/2015/08/09/beet-berry-smoothie/).

For dinner I had my barley-veggie mix (https://michaellustgarten.wordpress.com/2015/10/08/what-i-eat-barley-cauliflower-collard-tomato-celery-onion-corn-mix/), including barley, cauliflower, celery, tomato, corn, collards, onions and olive oil. Also, with an orange for dessert!

In sum, 2400 calories, 130 grams of dietary fiber, and maximal nutrition!

fiber 130

https://twitter.com/mike_lustgarten

10 thoughts on “130 grams of fiber, 2400 calories

  1. RP

    Thanks for sharing your diet. It’s interesting and nutrient dense.
    Any adverse effects? GI issues or GERD?
    Do you usually plan out your meals, or eat more or less the same daily, or do you find you can hit your calories without thinking?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Michael Lustgarten Post author

      I do indeed plan my meals for the day. I have a variety and range of foods that I choose from on any given day. I generally plan it on the same day, not the day before, based on what I feel like eating within my range of foods. As you can see from my 130 g of fiber post, I have a large range of foods that I like to eat, so I am generally satisfied and satiated from the dietary volume. Other foods, like Yacon powder and some nuts like walnuts (rich in LA) weren’t on the list for that day, but generally are.

      I can’t hit my macro and micro-nutrient goals without some thinking and planning-using the nutrition tracking program is essential for my success!When I first started tracking, my daily macro and micro-nutrient intake wasn’t as good as now-I’ve gotten even better at optimizing my nutrient intake.

      There aren’t any adverse effects-I’ve never felt better!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Johan Knudsen Aardal

    That more than 5 kg food/day if I’m not mistaken – you need to be careful to not chew up the time this diet hopefully buys you 😉

    Do you know the approximate cost/day?
    Are you concerned by any of the nutrients in the red, or the large amount of fiber interacting with e.g. calcium absorption?
    What software do you use to track this?

    Thanks for sharing!
    Cheers, Johan

    Like

    Reply
    1. Michael Lustgarten Post author

      Yes, it’s a lost of food, and yes (unfortunately), a lot in terms of $. Cost per day ~$25-30. We evolved eating a diet (https://michaellustgarten.wordpress.com/2015/07/17/on-a-paleo-diet-not-if-you-fiber-intake-is-less-than/) that is similar to mine (with perhaps a bit more animal products), so I’m not worried about the supercharged micronutrient composition, or the fiber-calcium interaction, for example. In fact, the opposite:there’s lots of evidence to support higher than the RDA values for many micronutrients. Have a look on my site here, as I present that data!

      I use chronometer.com to track it all.

      Like

      Reply
  3. flierps

    You didn’t enter the vanilla from the smoothie. I made the smoothie today and couldn’t find vanilla in cron-o-meter so came to see what it’s called 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Michael Lustgarten Post author

      You’re right, Gerard! The cost of vanilla beans, more than $20/lb exceeds their use for taste. I haven’t been using them lately, they’re not essential for the smoothie. In the chronometer, it’s “Ojio, vanilla bean, ground”.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

